The Chakras / Heart chakra
Valid CSS!
Bookmark and Share

Site and hosting by

Heart Chakra
Main principles of the Heart Chakra: Unconditional Love, self-love and self-acceptance. The heart is also the balancing point between the physical and spiritual chakras.

The Heart is the fourth of the seven major chakras: Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye / Brow, and Crown.

Remember that each of these chakras has a front and back! Clear both sides separately and equally for greater results.

Youtube link (For full-resolution version)

The Heart is the love chakra - the chakra through which we give and receive love, with ourselves, those closest to us (partners, family and friends) and the world around us (how we connect with other people and other beings).

When the Heart Chakra is not functioning correctly we can become closed off from others and ourselves, we begin to act through lack of self-love and therefore lack of self-esteem or self-worth. From here we can become posessive and jealous (to varying degrees) as we try to hold on to those close to us in order to receive love from anywhere but ourselves. We become frightened of being alone - not wanting to rely on ourselves for love and comfort. We can even become our own worst enemies, criticising ourselves more than anyone else would dream of!

Quite often people are unaware what they are doing to themselves, even that they feel this lack of self-love. We just get caught up in day-to-day life and carry on. But as soon as we have an inkling that this is what is going on, the best thing we can do for ourselves and our relationships with others is to tackle this deep-seated issue.

How does one go about this? Well, first by opening up the heart chakra and getting a glimpse of all the love you hold inside. Once you have that glimpse, you are well on the path to true self-discovery. Once you open up yourself to yourself you can start to love what you find inside. And with that comes the confidence to love others unconditionally because you are ultimately happy with yourself - happy with who you really are.

As the balancing point between the physical and spiritual chakras, the Heart Chakra is one that needs particular attention. You can easily have a pile up of negative energy here because it is the bridge between the root, sacral and solar plexus chakras and the throat, brow and crown chakras. Maintaining a state of equilibrium between these chakras is a juggling act. We have the poles of masculine universal energy coming down through the Crown Chakra and feminine earth energy coming up through the Root Chakra and here sits the Heart Chakra in the middle trying to keep the flow open between the two so that energy can move smoothly throughout the body through all of the chakras. It is not just important to keep the Root and the Crown connected to their source energies, therefore, but it is also important to keep the heart balanced. And of course to keep the heart balanced we must keep all the chakras in between functioning as best we can.


The Heart Chakra is located at heart level in the centre of the chest.

Colour healing

Two colours are connected with this chakra: Green and Pink. Both are strong healing rays of light.

Sound healing

The musical note connected with this chakra is 'F'.

Crystal healing

Crystals for the Heart Chakra include:

* Rose Quartz
* Rhodochrosite
* Kunzite (pink or green)
* Mangonite (pink calcite)
* Green Jasper
* Green Jade
* Bloodstone
* Emerald

And sometimes:
* Turquoise fluorite
* Turquoise
* Amethyst

Crystal Combinations:
Rose Quartz, Amethyst and Clear Quartz are a wonderful healing combination for self-love and depression.
Rose Quartz and Rhodochrosite together a beautiful loving combination